Posted by: Alan Richards | August 9, 2009

Day 115 – 9 August 2009 – Planking Continues

9 aug 09 0049 aug 09 005

Another plank is glued on. Side after side, we seem to be able to get one more plank done in each work session. It would be great to step up the pace towards completion a bit more, so that we don’t have to wait too long to go sailing.

Regarding the question of how much give and take there is in the accuracy of the build; the answer came from an unexpected source; I picked up a copy of ‘Mens Journal’ and noticed an article on boatbuilding. The reporter went to the WoodenBoat School in Maine and found a group of middle aged men fulfilling their urge to become boatbuilders. The instructor, Greg Rossel, teaches them to avoid using numbers whenever possible – “anytime you use numbers, things can go wrong”, he says, and “we have to get over this accuracy business”, . . . ” you need to be accurate, but not to a high degree of analness.” If ‘Mens Journal’ says so, it must be okay.

Responses

  1. Christ lads you are flying. I glueed the stem to the keelson and the sternsection of the keelson to the transon and ther whole frame is much more solid now. I know I have not got all the shapeing of the keelson and the stem done but I think when I get the planks cut out and put together I will offer them up and then I will know how much more I have to get rid of before I can lay the planks, I found the Tramson was very tedious lots of work for very little return. Keep going things look great,
    John

  2. I was on some site about a month ago can’t remember where (I just finished radium treatment for cancer about 3 months ago and then about a month later I got a heart attack the tablets they have me on seem to make me forget things) but on the site they said that when they were building a boat the planking tended to want to spring out and away from the moulds and the way they got over it was they put a bungee cord from the ground over the hull and back down to the ground on the other side. i.e. from the port side to the starbord side. they did this every now and again down along the hull. regards
    John

  3. Jess told me tonight that there are people in the National Theatre of Scotland who are now following your blog…… a true inspiration all around the world 🙂 Keep it up! and don’t let the first timers get you down… because believe me if I had it my way, I would also want to have had experience before going into my first classroom in September!

  4. Hi Alan. Very nice work.
    I am at the edge of starting to buid my own boat.Small thing, I was wondering if your planks are glued to each other with epoxy in both side of the plank faces.
    Thank you a lot.
    Dont stop making them

  5. i’m your second cousin sophie wainwright age 12 and my dad is your cousin paul. I’m looking at your blog for the first time and i think it’s really cool that your making a boat .Do you have a name for her yet?i have a suggestion for her name “a dream on the wind” BYE 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

    • Sophie,
      Good to hear from you, and thanks for the name suggestion. It is a little strange feeling as I go into the garage to work on the boat alone, sometimes with our dog, Oreo, that there are all these eyes all over the world watching through the blog to make sure that we make good progress. Maybe, sometime you will be able to sail in the boat when it is finished.
      Alan

  6. Hello Alan, another pair of eyes watching your work!I have been doing so for quite a while but never thougt of giving a comment, although I found your idea to build a boat great! Your progress is amazing! Can’t wait to see it finished! Brigitta

  7. Alan–
    I am about to embark on a boat build journey myself. May I ask–are you beveling the landings on your hung planks in order to receive the next plank? If so, what type of plane are you using> I have no planes and need to get familiar with the tool. Thank you!
    Henry
    Ithaca, NY

    • Hello Henry
      Yes, you must plane the landings on the edge of the hung planks. I found the handiest tool for this is a little low angle block plane. It is light, fits into your hand and if you keep it sharp, it is easy to use for this task and many others.
      Good luck
      Alan

  8. This is my question. Would it be much more difficult to build one of these fine boats out of wood planks – lapstraked – (eg WRC)? And also would it be much more difficult to make without using a kit? I am aware of the KISS principle, but would like to have your thoughts. Thanks. ChrisH


Leave a Reply

Categories

